The Most Commonly Mispronounced Names in Fashion

Every time I watch a red carpet event I hear celebrities say the names of the designers they are wearing and I wonder if there is a ritual they go through on their rise to stardom. If I had the choice, I would much rather take a 3 unit course on “Pronunciation of Modern Day Designers” instead of “Intermediate Spanish”. But alas, I got a Bachelors out of it, so I can’t complain. I picture us mere mortals sounding like Elizabeth Berkley in Showgirls, wearing “Ver-sase”. I can’t blame her though, there are some names that are tongue twisters. So below are a list of some commonly mispronounced names in designer fashion so next time you are being interviewed by Ryan Seacrest on the red carpet, or chatting with fellow fashionistas, you’ll know a few things.

Anna Sui: Anna Swee

Badgley Mischka: Badge-lee Meesh-kah

Balenciaga: Bah-len-see-aga

Balmain

Balmain

Balmain: Bahl-mahhhn

Christian Lacroix: Christian Luh-qua

Christian Louboutin

Christian Louboutin

Christian Louboutin: Christian loo-boo-tan

Giambattista Valli: Gee-am-bah-tease-ta Valley

Givenchy: Jee-von-shee

Hermes: Er-mez

Herve Leger

Herve Leger

Herve Leger: Air-veh Leh-jay

Jean Paul Gaultier: Zhon Paul Go-tee-ay

Lanvin: Lahn-vahhhhn (similar the the drawn out pronunciation of Balmain)

Louis Vuitton: Louie Vwee-tahhhhn

Maison Martin Margiela: Maysohhhn Martin Mar-jhell-ah

Marchesa

Marchesa

Marchesa: Mar-kay-sah

Monique Lhuillier: Monique Loo-lee-ay

Moschino: Mos-key-no

Olivier Theyskens: Oh-liv-ee-ay Tay-skins

Proenza Schouler

Proenza Schouler

Proenza Schouler: Pro-en-zuh Skool-er

Rochas: Row-shah

Thakoon: Tuh-koon

Versace: Vur-sah-chee

Yves Saint Laurent

Yves Saint Laurent

Yves Saint Laurent: Eve Sane Laurennnn

Personally, I feel so…French (more than I already am) every time I say Yves Saint Laurent. I could say it all day. And now we all can. Properly.

Any designer names that trip you up that you would like to add? Any I missed that you think should be on the list? Let me know in the comments!

xoxo, Courtney

One thought on “The Most Commonly Mispronounced Names in Fashion

  1. I see your website needs some fresh & unique
    articles. Writing manually is time consuming, but there is tool for this task.

    Just search in gooogle for – Avurker’s essential tools

Leave a Reply

